Renault Megane IV RS Trophy-R sets new record at The Bend Motorsport Park

After setting lap records for the fastest front-wheel-drive production car at both the Nürburgring and Spa-Francorchamps in Europe, the Renault Megane IV RS Trophy-R arrived to South Australia to set a new record at The Bend Motorsport Park.

The Renault Megane IV RS Trophy-R lapped the 4.95 km circuit in 2.14:316 as demonstrated in the video above, with James Moffat behind the wheel. The driver who is currently racing at TCR Australia with the Garry Rogers Motorsport TCR team, said: “To be able to take a road car and put it onto a track such as The Bend Motorsport Park and set a record time at the circuit that rivalled the times of the production cars racing here this weekend really shows the capabilities of the car. The Megane R.S. Trophy-R was first of all a great fun car to drive and I was very impressed with not only the engine performance but the braking and cornering performance, I really have nothing but good things to say about it, it was just so much fun.”

Only 12 / 500 units of the Renault Megane IV R.STrophy-R are destined for the australian market, priced from 74,990 aud. Additionally, 1/30 “Record Braking” editions (equipped with carbon wheels and carbon-ceramic brakes), will be auctioned for a lucky Australian.

As a reminder, the Megane IV RS Trophy-R is fitted with the 1.8 TCe engine producing 300hp / 220kW and 400Nm exclusively mated to a six-speed manual transmission – just like in the Renault Megane IV RS Trophy. However thanks to numerous weight-saving measures (including the removal of the 4Control system), the car weights 1306 kg which makes it -130 kg lighter from the Trophy. As a result, the car accelerates from 0-100 km/h in 5,4 seconds (-0,3 seconds faster than the Trophy) and can reach a top speed of 262 km/h (163 mph).

It also comes equipped with a more track-focused suspension, ceramic brakes, better aerodynamics and other chassis improvements. For the development of the hot hatch, Renault collaborated with Akrapovič (exhaust), Brembo (brakes), Bridgestone (tires), Öhlins (springs) and Sabelt (racing equipment).